Favorite Authors and writing tones

Standard

So, writing challenge this week pertains to grammar and a person’s “tone of voice” through their writing. How oh how will I get this to tie in with knitting, crochet , or yarn!? I have no idea……. I guess I should just start with the general question that The Daily Press asked which is: Who is your favorite author?

That is a hard one for me cause I am a real lover of books!! I have many treasured books that I read and reread countless times and know the stories by heart.  I tend to really fall into a good book and fall head over heels in love with the characters and then truly miss them when I’m finished reading the book!!  Are there many of you out there that have this problem also?

This is me in a nutshell!

I had always thought that it was Louisa May Alcott that was my favorite writer, but after much contemplation, I realized that she wrote my favorite book, but is not my favorite author.  If I had to     really, really state a favorite author I’m guessing it would be Terry Goodkind. That man just can’t write a book that I don’t love!! I plowed through the Sword of  Truth series that my mother in law got for me two Christmases ago. That’s 9 books people, with about 7-900 pages a piece that I read in about 10 days….. My eyes were tired!   He has such a wonderful cadence and such descriptive details without being overly descriptive. You know when you are reading so many details that you forget what the main conflict is? This does not happen with his books. He is a magnificent writer, very smooth and fluid. I just read a new book of his, Law of Nines. I wasn’t expecting it to tie in with the Sword of Truth books that I loved so much, but they did taking me completely by surprise. I loved it!

The shoppe is getting ready to have a book club once a month on the third Wednesday of the month, not sure of the time yet. We do know what book we are starting off with though….

The Knitting Circle by Ann Hood    It is about a woman whose child gets sick and how a group of knitter’s helped through the ordeal. It should be great! We hope to see you guys there.

Who’s you favorite author and why? What makes them so wonderful to you? Is it their ability to draw you in or the descriptive quality of their writing? We’d love to hear from you!

6 responses »

  1. I just finished reading Terry Goodkind’s The First Confessor – The Legend of Magda Searus”… IMHO the best book of the series and I hope that they make it into a movie. It would be AWESOME! I haven’t read the Law of Nines yet. It’s on my Kindle, just haven’t gotten to it yet.

    • I haven’t read that one, I see it on my reader also, but haven’t bought it yet. But I guess I will now! I can’t even imagine how fantastic it is… The first confessor, what a thing to read about! I’m getting antsy just thinking about it!

  2. Hmm, I love to read, but I don’t have a favorite author. I love classics — Jane Austen, Leo Tolstoy, Henry James — but also humor, sci-fi, fantasy, and steampunk — Gideon Defoe, Douglas Adams, Gail Carriger, China Mieville.

    Do you think the book club will be during the day or evening? Will the book be available for purchase in the shoppe?

Leave a Reply

